Recharge Rate Review Committee

The Recharge Review Committee serves in an advisory capacity to the Provost on the establishment of and updates to charges for services rendered by campus departments that fall under the definition of formal recharge units. The committee reviews and makes recommendations on all: requests to establish new activities, rates to charge for services/goods, and any changes to rates and fees.

While the committee consists of approximately 12 members, any unit may request a representative be appointed to the committee with A&FS approval. All members of the committee are expected to actively participate in the review, critique and approval process.

Rate review should focus on identified cost components as they relate to, direct costs of delivering services and/or goods, projected volume, expansion or contraction of the service unit, adjustments related to surplus or deficit, appropriate handling of depreciation and reserves for replacement/renewal, assurance of a break-even operation, and applications of federal costing principles (CFR Part 200) as appropriate.

  1. Review proposals distributed by committee chair/coordinator.
  2. Provide policy interpretations and guidance for individuals/units responsible for preparing recharge proposals.
  3. Communicate comments, questions, concerns, and recommendations to chair.
  4. Participate in resolution of comments, questions and concerns.
  5. Provide final recommendations on new activities and proposed rates.

Ex Officio

  • David Shim, Associate Director, Cost Accounting
  • Sheralin Klinthong, Associate Controller, Accounting & Fiscal Services
  • Barry Oh, Controller and Assistant Vice Chancellor, Accounting & Fiscal Services


  • Nancy Im, Assistant Director, Budget Operations - Budget Office
  • Daniel Nguyen, Finance Manager - Office of Research
  • Soo Lee, Operations and Finance Manager - Office of Research ULAR
  • Yumi Saito, Business Manager - Student Affairs
  • Kim Sadler, Director of Financial Operations - The Chancellor's Office
  • Katherine Diaz, Director of Finance - School of Social Ecology
  • Jason Brewington, Principal Finance Analyst - School of Medicine (SOM)
  • Lauren Shim, Principal Financial Analyst - Office of Information Technology (OIT)
  • Beata Najman, Director, Extramural Funds Accounting - Accounting & Fiscal Services